Institutionalizing the (Social) Enterprise

Unintentionally-ironic paper dolls borrowed from the consultants at Akashi.us

I’ll be honest: the idea of social enterprise has always intrigued but perplexed me.  On paper, of course, it sounds great.  We’ll apply the principles of entrepreneurship to solve social problems; we’ll be far more efficient than governments or NGOs and maybe we’ll make some money in the process.  It’s an idea that gives a whole throng of bright, young, business-savvy but corporate-skeptical people a reason to rally.

But there are at least two problems that have kept me lingering on the wary rim of the social enterprise punch bowl.  The first is a logistics issue: it just doesn’t seem like altruistic capitalism is at all scalable, and it’s hard to find an example that proves me wrong.  The second is more of a meta-cynicism problem: even for a guy like me who relishes in contradictions, altruistic capitalism is a big oxymoron to get over.  The firmly acculturated bulkhead that stands between the social roles of charities and corporations marks any attempt at a mashup with a distinct smell of skepticism.

Two discoveries this week have me rethinking this response.  Specifically, I’m learning to live with the first problem and am excited to see someone working on the second… in the mucky thick of tax law, no less.  Grant tipped me off to an interesting development: over the last few years, states like Vermont and Montana have been quietly introducing legislation that defines a new type of tax status for business: the Low-Profit Limited Liability Corporation, or L3C.  This is a purely tactical play that makes it easier for foundations to legally invest (with hopes of a small return) in social causes instead of just donating.  But it’s also a soft step toward institutionalizing the idea of a corporation driven by more than market cap.  An official marker that legitimates an idea which has previously had so much trouble fitting into oppositional categories.  A badge for the metabrand.

I’m still skeptical about scalability.  But case studies like the White Dog Cafe have me toying with the hope that scale can happen at the systemic level if not the organizational level; that the long tail decorporatization that works so well on the internet can spill over into the world of brick, mortar, and better paychecks.  Here’s to hoping.

5 Responses to “Institutionalizing the (Social) Enterprise”


  1. 1 branding marketing advertising agency September 17, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    Hey I am so happy I found your blog page, I really found you by error,
    while I was browsing on Google for something else, Regardless I am here
    now and would just like to say kudos for a fantastic post and a all round entertaining blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it
    all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS
    feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the fantastic b.

  2. 2 http://www.getlistedbookmarks.info/ July 17, 2013 at 9:32 am

    They don’t demand a response so your ex can respond if they want, but they won’t feel pressured
    to do so.

  3. 3 Trade show banner stands only December 26, 2016 at 11:55 am

    Pretty! This has been a really wonderful article.
    Thanks for providing this information.

  4. 4 Dji Follow Me February 18, 2017 at 6:11 pm

    If you are going for most excellent contents like myself, simply go
    to see this web page daily since it provides feature contents, thanks

  5. 5 Shannan March 21, 2017 at 1:24 am

    We know many of you are concerned about healthier eating, so we send them to a
    qualified nutritionist for thorough evaluation as well.


Leave a Reply

thoughts at the collision of business, brand and creativity

I'm Ryan Cunningham. I help companies and culture play nice with each other. At CREATURE we call this Brand Strategy, a term that carries a nice halo of reliability and structure. Here, I'm just another guy who thinks about the world and writes it down from time to time.

The result is a pile of knowledge to be used in, and for, the future. Feel free to sift through the heap for useful connections.

Add the Feed

Follow the Stream

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


